The Question about Pre-strain

Overall purposes of the project are:

1) To provide free access to a three-dimensional finite element representation of the knee joint

2) Open development of a knee model for collaborative testing and use
Yidan Xu

The Question about Pre-strain

Post by Yidan Xu » Thu Aug 13, 2020 2:26 pm

Hi,

I am a first-year master student who is using the open knee model (Generation one) to finish my thesis. Now I am trying to apply the pre-strain on the ligaments according to your suggestions on the website (https://simtk.org/plugins/moinmoin/open ... estrain%29) and the user's manual of FEBio plugin. At first, I tried to simulate the 10Nm Valgus rotation as Dr. Maas & Dr. Erdemir did in the literature ( DOI:10.1016/j.jmbbm.2016.04.012). In my simulation, I tried to apply in-situ stretch on the ligaments and to use prestrain update rule in the first step, followed by the load in the second step. For the boundary conditions, the femur is free except for the flexion-extension rotation, while the tibia is fixed. However, I just found that the prestrain stretch value in the PostView is almost the initial value (1.0), and I couldn't get the sensible results (rotation angle) as published results in such a situation. As a result, the rotation angle is almost the same as the result of the simulation without pre-strain. Also, I tried to apply in-situ stretch on the ligaments and use the in-situ stretch update rule. In such a situation, I found the prestrain stretch value in the PostView, is close to the applied value. And the rotation results in this simulation are closer to the published results.

I was stuck by the problem more than two months, and I might incorrectly use the update rule. Could anyone give me some suggestions and ideas? Any helps, I would appreciate it a lot!

Since the .feb file is too large, I attached my file as a link here:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/13B_YeT ... sp=sharing

Sincerely,
Yidan

Ariel Schwartz