Error while hiding/showing wrapping surfaces
- Allison Kinney
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 8:41 am
Error while hiding/showing wrapping surfaces
Hello OpenSim community,
I have installed OpenSim 3.2 (OpenSim-3.2.0-win32VC10P.exe) on a computer that was recently upgraded to Windows 8. When I load a model (arm26.osim, for example) and try to show or hide a wrapping surface in the model, I receive a Java Illegal Argument Exception (see below). This issue happens with any wrapping surface in any model on this computer.
Any suggestions on how to fix this issue?
Thank you,
Allison
java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: No enum class org.opensim.modeling.Geometry$GeometryType with value 200072336
at org.opensim.modeling.Geometry$GeometryType.swigToEnum(Geometry.java:82)
at org.opensim.modeling.Geometry.getShape(Geometry.java:43)
at org.opensim.view.AnalyticGeometryDisplayer.getPolyData(AnalyticGeometryDisplayer.java:65)
at org.opensim.view.AnalyticGeometryDisplayer.updateFromProperties(AnalyticGeometryDisplayer.java:198)
at org.opensim.view.SingleModelVisuals.updateObjectDisplay(SingleModelVisuals.java:840)
at org.opensim.view.pub.ViewDB.updateModelDisplay(ViewDB.java:1162)
at org.opensim.view.nodes.PropertyEditorAdaptor.handlePropertyChangeCommon(PropertyEditorAdaptor.java:117)
at org.opensim.view.nodes.PropertyEditorAdaptor.handlePropertyChange(PropertyEditorAdaptor.java:504)
at org.opensim.view.nodes.PropertyEditorAdaptor.setValueInt(PropertyEditorAdaptor.java:149)
at org.opensim.view.nodes.PropertyEditorAdaptor.setValueInt(PropertyEditorAdaptor.java:144)
at org.opensim.view.ObjectDisplayShowHideBaseAction.applyOperationToNode(ObjectDisplayShowHideBaseAction.java:114)
at org.opensim.view.ObjectDisplayShowHideBaseAction.performAction(ObjectDisplayShowHideBaseAction.java:89)
at org.openide.util.actions.CallableSystemAction$1.run(CallableSystemAction.java:129)
at org.openide.util.actions.ActionInvoker$1.run(ActionInvoker.java:95)
at org.openide.util.actions.ActionInvoker.doPerformAction(ActionInvoker.java:116)
at org.openide.util.actions.ActionInvoker.invokeAction(ActionInvoker.java:99)
at org.openide.util.actions.CallableSystemAction.actionPerformed(CallableSystemAction.java:126)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:1995)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2318)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(DefaultButtonModel.java:387)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(DefaultButtonModel.java:242)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.doClick(AbstractButton.java:357)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicMenuItemUI.doClick(BasicMenuItemUI.java:809)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicMenuItemUI$Handler.mouseReleased(BasicMenuItemUI.java:850)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Component.java:6290)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(JComponent.java:3267)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Component.java:6055)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Container.java:2039)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Component.java:4653)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2097)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4481)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Container.java:4575)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Container.java:4236)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Container.java:4166)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2083)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4481)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:648)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(EventQueue.java:84)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(EventQueue.java:607)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(EventQueue.java:605)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:87)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:98)
at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(EventQueue.java:621)
at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(EventQueue.java:619)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:87)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:618)
at org.netbeans.core.TimableEventQueue.dispatchEvent(TimableEventQueue.java:148)
I have installed OpenSim 3.2 (OpenSim-3.2.0-win32VC10P.exe) on a computer that was recently upgraded to Windows 8. When I load a model (arm26.osim, for example) and try to show or hide a wrapping surface in the model, I receive a Java Illegal Argument Exception (see below). This issue happens with any wrapping surface in any model on this computer.
Any suggestions on how to fix this issue?
Thank you,
Allison
java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: No enum class org.opensim.modeling.Geometry$GeometryType with value 200072336
at org.opensim.modeling.Geometry$GeometryType.swigToEnum(Geometry.java:82)
at org.opensim.modeling.Geometry.getShape(Geometry.java:43)
at org.opensim.view.AnalyticGeometryDisplayer.getPolyData(AnalyticGeometryDisplayer.java:65)
at org.opensim.view.AnalyticGeometryDisplayer.updateFromProperties(AnalyticGeometryDisplayer.java:198)
at org.opensim.view.SingleModelVisuals.updateObjectDisplay(SingleModelVisuals.java:840)
at org.opensim.view.pub.ViewDB.updateModelDisplay(ViewDB.java:1162)
at org.opensim.view.nodes.PropertyEditorAdaptor.handlePropertyChangeCommon(PropertyEditorAdaptor.java:117)
at org.opensim.view.nodes.PropertyEditorAdaptor.handlePropertyChange(PropertyEditorAdaptor.java:504)
at org.opensim.view.nodes.PropertyEditorAdaptor.setValueInt(PropertyEditorAdaptor.java:149)
at org.opensim.view.nodes.PropertyEditorAdaptor.setValueInt(PropertyEditorAdaptor.java:144)
at org.opensim.view.ObjectDisplayShowHideBaseAction.applyOperationToNode(ObjectDisplayShowHideBaseAction.java:114)
at org.opensim.view.ObjectDisplayShowHideBaseAction.performAction(ObjectDisplayShowHideBaseAction.java:89)
at org.openide.util.actions.CallableSystemAction$1.run(CallableSystemAction.java:129)
at org.openide.util.actions.ActionInvoker$1.run(ActionInvoker.java:95)
at org.openide.util.actions.ActionInvoker.doPerformAction(ActionInvoker.java:116)
at org.openide.util.actions.ActionInvoker.invokeAction(ActionInvoker.java:99)
at org.openide.util.actions.CallableSystemAction.actionPerformed(CallableSystemAction.java:126)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:1995)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2318)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(DefaultButtonModel.java:387)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(DefaultButtonModel.java:242)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.doClick(AbstractButton.java:357)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicMenuItemUI.doClick(BasicMenuItemUI.java:809)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicMenuItemUI$Handler.mouseReleased(BasicMenuItemUI.java:850)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Component.java:6290)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(JComponent.java:3267)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Component.java:6055)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Container.java:2039)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Component.java:4653)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2097)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4481)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Container.java:4575)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Container.java:4236)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Container.java:4166)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2083)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4481)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:648)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(EventQueue.java:84)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(EventQueue.java:607)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(EventQueue.java:605)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:87)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:98)
at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(EventQueue.java:621)
at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(EventQueue.java:619)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:87)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:618)
at org.netbeans.core.TimableEventQueue.dispatchEvent(TimableEventQueue.java:148)
- Ayman Habib
- Posts: 2248
- Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 12:24 pm
Re: Error while hiding/showing wrapping surfaces
Hi Allison,
Thanks for reporting. I'm running the same installation on my machine (Windows 7) and I'm not seeing the problem. This sounds machine specific, can you please confirm if the behavior is different on other machines? If so can you send info about the graphics card on this machine? My guess is that the display driver was not updated, can you check if it's up to date?
Thanks,
-Ayman
Thanks for reporting. I'm running the same installation on my machine (Windows 7) and I'm not seeing the problem. This sounds machine specific, can you please confirm if the behavior is different on other machines? If so can you send info about the graphics card on this machine? My guess is that the display driver was not updated, can you check if it's up to date?
Thanks,
-Ayman
- Allison Kinney
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 8:41 am
Re: Error while hiding/showing wrapping surfaces
Hi Ayman,
Thanks for replying so quickly.
I can replicate this issue on 3 different computers in our lab running Windows 8. I do not have the issue on any computer running Windows 7.
The graphics card on the computer where I originally noticed the issue is a NVIDIA Quadro FX 3450/4000 SDI and the driver is up to date.
As I mentioned, I have replicated the issue on two other computers and their graphics cards (with up to date drivers) are:
NVIDIA Quadro FX 3700
NVIDIA Quadro K2000
Thanks,
Allison
Thanks for replying so quickly.
I can replicate this issue on 3 different computers in our lab running Windows 8. I do not have the issue on any computer running Windows 7.
The graphics card on the computer where I originally noticed the issue is a NVIDIA Quadro FX 3450/4000 SDI and the driver is up to date.
As I mentioned, I have replicated the issue on two other computers and their graphics cards (with up to date drivers) are:
NVIDIA Quadro FX 3700
NVIDIA Quadro K2000
Thanks,
Allison
- Colin Smith
- Posts: 53
- Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:50 am
Re: Error while hiding/showing wrapping surfaces
Did you ever find a solution to this? I am having the same problem on my windows 8 laptop
- Allison Kinney
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 8:41 am
Re: Error while hiding/showing wrapping surfaces
Hi Colin,
No, I have not found a solution to this problem.
Any suggestions from the OpenSim team?
Thanks,
Allison
No, I have not found a solution to this problem.
Any suggestions from the OpenSim team?
Thanks,
Allison
- Marc-Joseph Antonini
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 10:18 am
Re: Error while hiding/showing wrapping surfaces
Hi everyone,
Just to let you know that I am experiencing the same problem on a Windows 8.1 machine, with up-to-date graphical card drivers (ATI RADEON HD 5870).
Hope that this problem will be fixed soon.
Thanks,
Mj
Just to let you know that I am experiencing the same problem on a Windows 8.1 machine, with up-to-date graphical card drivers (ATI RADEON HD 5870).
Hope that this problem will be fixed soon.
Thanks,
Mj
Re: Error while hiding/showing wrapping surfaces
Hi everyone,
This sounds like a Windows 8 specific issue. We haven't yet developed on the W8 platform so we haven't run into this issue internally. We will look into the issue as soon as we can and will get back to you when we can patch.
Thanks,
-James
This sounds like a Windows 8 specific issue. We haven't yet developed on the W8 platform so we haven't run into this issue internally. We will look into the issue as soon as we can and will get back to you when we can patch.
Thanks,
-James
- Alexander Barry
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 8:38 am
Re: Error while hiding/showing wrapping surfaces
I am encountering the same issue on my Windows 8.1 Computer, however I may have discovered a way to fix the issue, at least it worked for me. In the code for your model under <Body> <WrapObjectSet> <objects> <WrapCylinder> I added a display preference of "0" or hidden, and that hid the wrapping surface for me (<display_preference> 0 </display_preference>). So while you may be unable to hide the objects quickly in the GUI, this may be a way to temporarily solve the issue.
- Marco Senteler
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 2:43 am
Re: Error while hiding/showing wrapping surfaces
I am experiencing the same problem under Windows 10, so I thought I'll let you know.
Using show/hide in the navigator (by right clicking the body) does not have any effect on how wrapping bodies are shown, although the property [display preference] changes.
Manually changing the property returns an error as described by other users before (<<opensim no enum class org.opensim.modeling.Geometry...>>)
The suggested workaround (editing [display preference] in the xml file) still works, but requires reloading the model each time a change has been made.
Using show/hide in the navigator (by right clicking the body) does not have any effect on how wrapping bodies are shown, although the property [display preference] changes.
Manually changing the property returns an error as described by other users before (<<opensim no enum class org.opensim.modeling.Geometry...>>)
The suggested workaround (editing [display preference] in the xml file) still works, but requires reloading the model each time a change has been made.
- Simao Brito da Luz
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:10 pm
Re: Error while hiding/showing wrapping surfaces
Hi
I have the same error using OpenSim 3.3 (v64) on a windows 10 machine.
Any solutions?
Cheers
I have the same error using OpenSim 3.3 (v64) on a windows 10 machine.
Any solutions?
Cheers