Matlab and OpenSim

Provide easy-to-use, extensible software for modeling, simulating, controlling, and analyzing the neuromusculoskeletal system.
POST REPLY
User avatar
Arash Mohammadzadeh Gonabadi
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:44 am

Matlab and OpenSim

Post by Arash Mohammadzadeh Gonabadi » Mon Jan 07, 2019 4:13 pm

Hello,

Can somebody help me with these questions:



1- I do not know how I can make it quit:

"ikTool.setVerboseLevel"

What kind of value I have to put in the above code:

ikTool.setVerboseLevel(0)
or
ikTool.setVerboseLevel(false)
or
ikTool.setVerboseLevel =0
...



2- I have another question.
I am working with Matlab and OpenSim, I have the MoCap data from the markers in Matlab.
Is there any way to put and set this data to OpenSim interface without using trc (walking) and mot(grf) files?
I do not want to feed OpenSim in Matlab with C3D data. I just want to use my available data in the workspace.


Thank you.

Best,
Arash

Tags:

User avatar
Ayman Habib
Posts: 2248
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 12:24 pm

Re: Matlab and OpenSim

Post by Ayman Habib » Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:52 am

Hello,

VerboseLevel is an enum type but it is practically unused by the code so I don't think it is worth the trouble of trying to set it using any of the methods you mentioned.

OpenSim 4.0 supports reading/parsing C3D files so you maybe able to do without writing trc, grf flies, or you can write these with a few lines of API code. It depends on the consumer of the data, some tools only interface through files while others have interfaces that work directly with the data. Please provide more details so we can help you.

Best regards,
-Ayman

User avatar
Arash Mohammadzadeh Gonabadi
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:44 am

Re: Matlab and OpenSim

Post by Arash Mohammadzadeh Gonabadi » Tue Jan 08, 2019 12:29 pm

Thank you so much for your time and help.

- Actually, I am going to save time by disabling the "verbose". The time consuming is very important to me even 0.1 seconds. So, I will appreciate if there is any way to disable it in the Matlab-OpenSim-Interface-Code.

- Thank you. I mean, I am going to link Matlab and Vicon Nexus to have the MoCap data from the markers. Then, I am going to use the tracked MoCap data and GRF data as inputs to OpenSim in Matlab. So, to save the time I would not like to save the tracked files(C3D) and then opening and converting them (by OpenSim 4.0 code). So, totally, I would like to save the time-consuming. Is there any way to use directly the MoCap data and GRF data from the Matlab workspace in the OpenSim interface code?

Thank you so much.

Best
Arash

User avatar
Arash Mohammadzadeh Gonabadi
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:44 am

Re: Matlab and OpenSim

Post by Arash Mohammadzadeh Gonabadi » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:21 am

Hello again,

I was wondering can anybody help me with the previous problems?
Thank you in advance.

Best,
Arash

User avatar
Thomas Uchida
Posts: 1793
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 11:40 am

Re: Matlab and OpenSim

Post by Thomas Uchida » Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:33 am

Some cout statements in the InverseKinematicsTool::run() method are always printed (see, e.g., https://github.com/opensim-org/opensim- ... l.cpp#L303). If these are problematic, you could download the source code, comment out these lines, and compile your own version of OpenSim locally. You could also try copying the relevant files, commenting out the print statements, and compiling into a plug-in.

User avatar
Arash Mohammadzadeh Gonabadi
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:44 am

Re: Matlab and OpenSim

Post by Arash Mohammadzadeh Gonabadi » Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:48 am

Thank you so much for your help and time.
After modifying the code should I put it in the following address:

OpenSim 4.0\sdk\include\OpenSim\Tools

Also, can I modify "InverseKinematicsTool.h" instead of "InverseKinematicsTool.cpp"?
Thank you so much.

Best,
Arash

POST REPLY