how to add PointKinematics analysis to FD

Provide easy-to-use, extensible software for modeling, simulating, controlling, and analyzing the neuromusculoskeletal system.
POST REPLY
User avatar
Sina Porsa
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:21 pm

how to add PointKinematics analysis to FD

Post by Sina Porsa » Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:00 pm

Hi every one.
I want to add an analysis (PointKinematics) to the forward dynamics. In other words, I want to run this analysis during forward dynamic.
I made some changes to the <ForwardTool> xml file.
I changed this:
.
.
<AnalysisSet name="Analyses">
<objects/>
<groups/>
</AnalysisSet>

with this:
.
.
<AnalysisSet name="Analyses">
<objects>
<PointKinematics name="PointKinematics">
<on> true </on>
<start_time> 0.000000000000000000 </start_time>
<end_time> 0.10000000000000000000 </end_time>
<step_interval> 1 </step_interval>
<in_degrees> true </in_degrees>
<body_name> calcn_r </body_name>
<relative_to_body_name> none </relative_to_body_name>
<point_name> NONAME </point_name>
<point> 0.01000000 -0.01000000 -0.02000000 </point>
</PointKinematics>
</objects>
<groups/>
</AnalysisSet>

when I want to run the modified version of the forwardtool, it ends up with this error:
" Runtime Error!
Program: C:\Program Files\OpenSim2.2.1\jdk\jre\bin\java.exe
This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact the application's support team for more information."

Any Idea?
Regards,
Sina

User avatar
Ayman Habib
Posts: 2252
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 12:24 pm

RE: how to add PointKinematics analysis to FD

Post by Ayman Habib » Thu Jun 02, 2011 9:21 am

Hi Sina,

The attribute <relative_to_body_name> should be specified to an actual Body name (e.g. "ground") Please let me know if that solves your problem. Also please file a bug as we should give an informative error message rather than quietly crash if the body is not specified.

Please let me know how that goes.
-Ayman

User avatar
Sina Porsa
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:21 pm

RE: how to add PointKinematics analysis to FD

Post by Sina Porsa » Thu Jun 02, 2011 4:57 pm

Hi Ayman,
It did not solve the problem.
This is the new xml:
.
.
<in_degrees> true </in_degrees>
<body_name> calcn_r </body_name>
<relative_to_body_name> ground </relative_to_body_name>
<point_name> NONAME </point_name>
<point> 0.00000000000000000000 0.00000000000000000000 0.00000000000000000000 </point>
.
.
It crashes again,
Thanks,
Sina

User avatar
Ayman Habib
Posts: 2252
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 12:24 pm

RE: how to add PointKinematics analysis to FD

Post by Ayman Habib » Fri Jun 03, 2011 11:25 am

Hi Sina,

Looking into the code I don't think that specifying a body name under <relative_to_body_name> is critical (ground is assumed otherwise). I used the following XML snippet to test in a ForwardTool setup file:
<AnalysisSet name="Analyses">
<objects>
...
<PointKinematics name="PointKinematics">
<on> true </on>
<start_time> 0.000000000000000000 </start_time>
<end_time> 1.0000000000000000000 </end_time>
<step_interval> 1 </step_interval>
<in_degrees> true </in_degrees>
<body_name> Pendulum </body_name>
<relative_to_body_name> NONE </relative_to_body_name>
<point_name> NONAME </point_name>
<point> 0.01000000 -0.01000000 -0.02000000 </point>
</PointKinematics>
..
</objects>
</AnalysisSet>

Could this be model specific, or could the crash be happening somewhere else?

Please let us know.

Best,
-Ayman

User avatar
Sina Porsa
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:21 pm

RE: how to add PointKinematics analysis to FD

Post by Sina Porsa » Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:41 pm

Hi Aymen,
The problem does not arise from the model (the Osim file).
I can run the regular FD tool to integrate state equations for this OSIM file. But when I add the "POINTKINEMATICS" it ends up to an error.
Is there anyway I can attach my xml and osim files here?
I have no idea what is the problem !!
Regards,
Sina

User avatar
Sina Porsa
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:21 pm

RE: how to add PointKinematics analysis to FD

Post by Sina Porsa » Wed Jun 08, 2011 8:05 pm

Hi Ayman
I just tried to run it on another computer and it ended up to the same error.
any idea?
Regards,
Sina

User avatar
Ayman Habib
Posts: 2252
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 12:24 pm

RE: how to add PointKinematics analysis to FD

Post by Ayman Habib » Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:23 pm

Hi Sina,

Please file a bug report and attach all the necessary files (in one zip) and I'll take a look and let you know.

Best,
-Ayman

POST REPLY