Basic Questions about the Functionality
- Michael Sherman
- Posts: 807
- Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:05 pm
Re: Basic Questions about the Functionality
Clarification: I meant to say the bug fixes are not in VS 2012 Update 2 -- that is, the compiler is still broken! We will have to wait for at least Update 3 before we can support Simbody & OpenSim with VS 2012.
- Fabian Bayerlein
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:12 pm
Re: Basic Questions about the Functionality
Hello Ayman, hello Sherm,
thank you both for the quick and helpful feedback.
I'm trying to use VS2010 Pro now. Unfortunately, I still can't get CMake to work.
I always erase the whole build directory to be sure. Also, I tried the following statements in the Makefile to get CMake to chose the 32bit compiler, but it's still the same problem.
Do you have any further suggestions or should I reset the system?
Thank you very much for the great support,
Fabian
thank you both for the quick and helpful feedback.
I'm trying to use VS2010 Pro now. Unfortunately, I still can't get CMake to work.
I always erase the whole build directory to be sure. Also, I tried the following statements in the Makefile to get CMake to chose the 32bit compiler, but it's still the same problem.
Code: Select all
set(CMAKE_C_FLAGS -m32)
set(CMAKE_CXX_FLAGS -m32)
Thank you very much for the great support,
Fabian
- Michael Sherman
- Posts: 807
- Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:05 pm
Re: Basic Questions about the Functionality
Fabian, I don't understand what you mean by "can't get CMake to work". You definitely do not need to edit the CMakeLists.txt file to build 32 bits. When you run the CMake GUI on an empty build directory, or one in which the cache has been deleted, it will ask you to select a "generator". For that you should select Visual Studio 10, which is always 32 bit. The 64 bit option is a different generator, something like Visual Studio 10 x64.
Perhaps you could send screen shots of exactly what you see when you first run CMake on the empty build directory? And then what you are seeing that makes you say it didn't work?
Regards,
Sherm
Perhaps you could send screen shots of exactly what you see when you first run CMake on the empty build directory? And then what you are seeing that makes you say it didn't work?
Regards,
Sherm
- Ayman Habib
- Posts: 2248
- Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 12:24 pm
Re: Basic Questions about the Functionality
Fabian,
To follow up on Sherm's question, it would help to know where did the process described on the instructions page below break, and how?
http://simtk-confluence.stanford.edu:80 ... I+Examples
-Ayman
To follow up on Sherm's question, it would help to know where did the process described on the instructions page below break, and how?
http://simtk-confluence.stanford.edu:80 ... I+Examples
-Ayman
- Fabian Bayerlein
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:12 pm
Re: Basic Questions about the Functionality
Good Morning Ayman, good Morning Sherm,
thank you for your response.
Excuse me, if I was to vague about my problem.
The problem is still the same as posted Yesterday, 12:27 pm.
I select the generator Visual Studio 10 and CMake complains about not being able to identify the compiler.
If I try building ALL_BUILD despite the problems mentioned by CMake, I repeatedly get an error, like the appended and VS2010 also complains about not being able to identify the compiler.
Thank you for your time,
Fabian
thank you for your response.
Excuse me, if I was to vague about my problem.
The problem is still the same as posted Yesterday, 12:27 pm.
I select the generator Visual Studio 10 and CMake complains about not being able to identify the compiler.
If I try building ALL_BUILD despite the problems mentioned by CMake, I repeatedly get an error, like the appended and VS2010 also complains about not being able to identify the compiler.
Thank you for your time,
Fabian
- Ayman Habib
- Posts: 2248
- Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 12:24 pm
Re: Basic Questions about the Functionality
Hi Fabian,
Since this appears to be a CMake problem, and I haven't used the latest version 2.8.10, I'd suggest you go back to version 2.8.8 (which I used successfully) and retry.
Is your VS2010 configured correctly? That is can you compile a simple program in it (without using CMake altogether?)
Thanks,
-Ayman
Since this appears to be a CMake problem, and I haven't used the latest version 2.8.10, I'd suggest you go back to version 2.8.8 (which I used successfully) and retry.
Is your VS2010 configured correctly? That is can you compile a simple program in it (without using CMake altogether?)
Thanks,
-Ayman
- Michael Sherman
- Posts: 807
- Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:05 pm
Re: Basic Questions about the Functionality
I have been using CMake 2.8.10 without any problems.
It looks like maybe CMake can't find your Visual Studio 2010 installation. The first thing to check would be that you can use CMake successfully to produce a VS 2010 project. That is independent of OpenSim or Simbody. I'm not sure where CMake looks for VS 2010 but if yours is installed in an unusual location you might have to point CMake there, probably via a predefined CMake variable.
A few possible ways to proceed:
(1) Reinstall VS 2010 into a default location (assuming it isn't already), or
(2) Determine from CMake documentation how to point CMake to where your compiler is installed and verify that you can run CMake + VS 2010 generator successfully.
Regards,
Sherm
It looks like maybe CMake can't find your Visual Studio 2010 installation. The first thing to check would be that you can use CMake successfully to produce a VS 2010 project. That is independent of OpenSim or Simbody. I'm not sure where CMake looks for VS 2010 but if yours is installed in an unusual location you might have to point CMake there, probably via a predefined CMake variable.
A few possible ways to proceed:
(1) Reinstall VS 2010 into a default location (assuming it isn't already), or
(2) Determine from CMake documentation how to point CMake to where your compiler is installed and verify that you can run CMake + VS 2010 generator successfully.
Regards,
Sherm
- Fabian Bayerlein
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:12 pm
Re: Basic Questions about the Functionality
Hello Ayman, Hello Sherm,
thank you for your responses!
It seems as if it's a VS2010 Pro Problem.
I tried building little test programs in VS2012 Ultimate and VS2010 Express but somewhere along the way from Express -> Pro, something must have gone wrong! I'll check back when I figured it out.
I'm sorry to have taken up your time with a problem that is unrelated with the actual software, but I highly appreciate the support, thank you!
Best Regards,
Fabian
thank you for your responses!
It seems as if it's a VS2010 Pro Problem.
I tried building little test programs in VS2012 Ultimate and VS2010 Express but somewhere along the way from Express -> Pro, something must have gone wrong! I'll check back when I figured it out.
I'm sorry to have taken up your time with a problem that is unrelated with the actual software, but I highly appreciate the support, thank you!
Best Regards,
Fabian
- Fabian Bayerlein
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:12 pm
Re: Basic Questions about the Functionality
Hello everybody,
finally, everything seems to work well.
If anyone ever experiences the same problem:
After repairing VS2010 Pro 3x, the SDK twice and installing and uninstalling SP1 for VS2010, I think, that the problem was the following.
Installing VS2012 prior to VS2010 gets you newer versions of the 2010 Redistributables which messes up VS2010 directory mapping, so it doesn't even find the stdio.h.
So you have to manually uninstall the newer Redistributables and install the SDK for Win7 and .Net 4 to get the right Redistributables and the right mapping.
Then there comes a "LNK1123: failure during conversion to COFF" error along, that can either be resolved by installing the SP1 (but that messed up my directory mapping again) or manually copying the from the folder to the respective folder.
I guess, there's a more elegant way to solve that, but at least that's what worked for me.
Thanks everyone for the great support,
Fabian
finally, everything seems to work well.
If anyone ever experiences the same problem:
After repairing VS2010 Pro 3x, the SDK twice and installing and uninstalling SP1 for VS2010, I think, that the problem was the following.
Installing VS2012 prior to VS2010 gets you newer versions of the 2010 Redistributables which messes up VS2010 directory mapping, so it doesn't even find the stdio.h.
So you have to manually uninstall the newer Redistributables and install the SDK for Win7 and .Net 4 to get the right Redistributables and the right mapping.
Then there comes a "LNK1123: failure during conversion to COFF" error along, that can either be resolved by installing the SP1 (but that messed up my directory mapping again) or manually copying the
Code: Select all
cvtres.exe
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0\VC\bin\
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\bin\
I guess, there's a more elegant way to solve that, but at least that's what worked for me.
Thanks everyone for the great support,
Fabian
- Michael Sherman
- Posts: 807
- Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:05 pm
Re: Basic Questions about the Functionality
Congratulations, Fabian -- thanks for posting this!
Sherm
Sherm