tool execution failed or cancelled by user. output files were not written.

Provide easy-to-use, extensible software for modeling, simulating, controlling, and analyzing the neuromusculoskeletal system.
Sreejan Alapati

tool execution failed or cancelled by user. output files were not written.

Post by Sreejan Alapati » Tue Apr 13, 2021 7:38 am

I have added an object at the palm of the "arm26.osim" using Notepad++. Then I tried to run the CMC simulation with the predefined motion files and control files that one get with the installation. However, the simulation which worked with the same files for the original "arm26.osim" file, now fails to generate output for the one that I have added the object. An error message saying "tool execution failed or cancelled by the user. output files were not written" is popped up.
I am a beginner to this software. so please let me know what is/might causing the error and what might be the solution.

Tags:

Thomas Uchida

Re: tool execution failed or cancelled by user. output files were not written.

Post by Thomas Uchida » Tue Apr 13, 2021 8:05 am

It depends what you are trying to add to the model, but Notepad++ is generally not the best strategy. Please see the "Scripting and Development" section of the documentation (https://simtk-confluence.stanford.edu/d ... evelopment) for information on how add bodies to models. If you are just trying to model a mass in the hand, you might instead just increase the mass of the hand itself. This would be much simpler- see the "Property Editor and Outputs List" page in the documentation (https://simtk-confluence.stanford.edu/d ... tputs+List).

Sreejan Alapati

Post by Sreejan Alapati » Tue Apr 13, 2021 11:45 pm

Thanks for your quick reply.