Calculating max torque capacity about a joint

Provide easy-to-use, extensible software for modeling, simulating, controlling, and analyzing the neuromusculoskeletal system.
Marc Carmichael

Calculating max torque capacity about a joint

Post by Marc Carmichael » Tue May 18, 2010 9:53 pm

Hello everyone,

Firstly let me thank the developers of OpenSim for such a nice program! An also a big thanks to everyone who have already helped me on previous threads. I am new to OpenSim so excuse me if my questions seem simple.

I wish to perform an analysis using the Stanford upperlimb model in which I calculate the maximum possible joint torques that can be produced by the muscle's contraction. For example, I wish to calculate the maximum elbow flexion torque than can be produced by the model. I then want to repeat this over and over again for different elbow, shoulder, wrist positions to see the relationships between the arm pose and elbow joint strength.

The problem I am facing is that I am tackling this problem from a non-typical way (I.e not starting out with a *.mot consisting of motion capture data), and instead I think my approach is almost backwards and I am having trouble finding examples of what I am trying to achieve.

So this is what I am thinking of doing. Please let me know if there is a simpler way of going about this problem, or if my method will simply not work.

1 - Load the model from the *.osim file

2 - Initialize the state and set the joint angle coodrinate to the desired angles

3 - Set the state's joint angle speeds and accelerations to zero (since I want to calculate isometric strength)

4 - Initialise a "JointReaction" analysis about the elbow joint