Page 1 of 2
Getting Matlab OpenSim interface to work
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:21 pm
by sjwohlman
I followed the instructions from:
http://simtk-confluence.stanford.edu:80 ... anualSetup
but when I run one of the example scripts, I get a Java error.
Java exception occurred:
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: Could not initialize class org.opensim.modeling.opensimModelJNI
at org.opensim.modeling.Model.<init>(Model.java:127)
Any suggestions on how to fix this?
Thanks!
Re: Getting Matlab OpenSim interface to work
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:33 pm
by jimmy
Hi Sarah,
Did you use the automated matlab setup script (configureOpenSim.m)?
Does an error occur when you run any openSim API code or just the one example script?
Re: Getting Matlab OpenSim interface to work
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:27 pm
by sjwohlman
I was previously using 3.1 so that is why I didn't use the automated setup script. But when I tried the automated setup script with 3.2, it worked.
I'm able to run most of the example scripts except for TugOfWar_CompleteRunVisualize.m, I'm still getting an error with the visualizer.
Re: Getting Matlab OpenSim interface to work
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:31 pm
by vrutang
Hello,
I am also getting the same error. I have used the automated script and I also got the pop up message that it configured successfully. Now, when I tried to run any of the examples scripts, it showing me following error:
Error using TugOfWar_CompleteRunVisualize (line 32)
Java exception occurred:
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: Could not initialize class org.opensim.modeling.opensimModelJNI
at org.opensim.modeling.Model.<init>(Model.java:127)
I have also attached snap shot of the matlab command window for reference.
Any help is highly appreciated!
Thanks.
Re: Getting Matlab OpenSim interface to work
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:58 pm
by jimmy
Hi-
You may have to run Matlab as administrator. A previous thread had a
similar issue
-j
Re: Getting Matlab OpenSim interface to work
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:11 pm
by vrutang
I have tried with running Matlab as administrator. Now it is showing me this error as attached.
Then I looked up in the troubleshooting given in
http://simtk-confluence.stanford.edu:80 ... ith+Matlab. But still I am getting this error.
Would you please help me out in resolving this issue?
Thanks!
Re: Getting Matlab OpenSim interface to work
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:43 pm
by tkuchida
This error message appears to be addressed in the first bullet of the Troubleshooting section on the "Scripting with Matlab" page (
http://simtk-confluence.stanford.edu:80 ... ith+Matlab). Have you added the
OPENSIM_INSTALL_DIR\bin directory to your system PATH variable?
Re: Getting Matlab OpenSim interface to work
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:47 pm
by jimmy
If you are running a newer version of Matlab, the automated method may not be working correctly. This is because we haven't had a new OpenSim release in awhile.
Have you tried the manual method (detailed on the page you linked)? I would make sure that LibraryPath.txt, classpath.txt are correct and OpenSim/bin is in the Matlab path. Make sure you restart Matlab (I have forgotten that in the past).
Re: Getting Matlab OpenSim interface to work
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:47 pm
by vrutang
Yes, I have added. Just now my problem is solved.
I just closed Matlab and open once again, set the path OpenSim 3.3/bin
and type: "model = org.opensim.modeling.Model()" and it did worked without any error.
Now I am able to run example codes.
Thanks for all your time and help!
Re: Getting Matlab OpenSim interface to work
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:15 am
by jskaro
Hi,
I'm getting the same errors as well. I've done the manual setup for matlab to opensim and importing the models works. When I try to run the "createActuatorsFile.m" it get the following errors,
"Required library failed to load. Check that the dynamic library osimJavaJNI is in your PATH"
"java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError:C:\OpenSim 3.3\bin\osimJavaJNI.dll: Can't find dependent libraries"
I've also gone through the troubleshooting on
https://simtk-confluence.stanford.edu:8 ... ith+Matlab
as in I made sure OpenSim was in the system path when I installed it. I did get a path too long error though. Then I've reinstalled visual studio package.
Been struggling with this for a while.
Thanks in advance for any help!