some question on scaling and IK in Opensim

Provide easy-to-use, extensible software for modeling, simulating, controlling, and analyzing the neuromusculoskeletal system.
Xiaoyan Hu

some question on scaling and IK in Opensim

Post by Xiaoyan Hu » Wed Apr 30, 2014 10:35 am

Hi Everyone,

We are now using OpenSim to solve inverse kinematics problem for our current project. I carefully read the user guide and follow the user guide step by step. After spending several days on tuning parameters such as markers placement, scale factors and weights, I got an IK result for my walking data. The result looks fine but does not always match the Mocap data well (in some frames). Since I am new to OpenSim, I am not quiet sure whether I correctly use OpenSim tools to scale model and solve inverse kinematics for Mocap data. I have some questions in using the tools.

Here is what I do:
Basically I have got Mocap data from Vicon and exported marker trajectories as trc files (including a static T-pose and a walking motion) and then I use the “3DGaitModel2354” model to do inverse kinematics in OpenSim. Because virtual markers defined in “3DGaitModel2354” and our Mocap markers do not agree, I deleted all virtual markers and added new markers manually according to the Mocap data. In the scaling step I tried both measurement factors and manually set factors and their combination and in inverse kinematics step I set the weights by hand.

My questions are:
1. If I download a model with no virtual markers included, should I add markers manually? Are there any standards or rules on how to place virtual markers? Or it is recommended to add and edit markers according to the markers of Vicon Mocap data?