Inverse dynamics problem

Provide easy-to-use, extensible software for modeling, simulating, controlling, and analyzing the neuromusculoskeletal system.
Ashley Heers

Inverse dynamics problem

Post by Ashley Heers » Sat May 24, 2014 6:57 am

Hello, everyone! I am new to OpenSim. I have a model of a bird forelimb, with kinematic data as well as external load data (aerodynamic forces) for one wingstroke cycle. The kinematic and force data are already smoothed, and I think my joints are good (they work fine in Maya, anyways). When I use the inverse dynamics tool, it runs quickly and fine, but when I plot the results, the moments jump all over the place (from positive values to negative values). Filtering makes no difference, and I can't for the life of me figure out what's going on. This is happening at every joint, and in every direction. Any suggestions? I've attached a screenshot of some of the results.

Thank you so much for any help!!

P.S. My bird only weighs 500 g, and the forces are small (total force ~1.5 N). Does OpenSim have any problems with forces this small? The bird is also flapping very quickly...
Attachments
ID results.jpg

jimmy d

Re: Inverse dynamics problem

Post by jimmy d » Tue May 27, 2014 4:20 pm

Hi Ashley,

I have seen these issues before when the capture frequency was low. In that particular case, the person had forces and coordinate values at the same 100hz.

Perhaps try to increase the (apparent) capture frequency of the force data and see if that improves it.

Let us know how that goes,
-james

Ashley Heers

Post by Ashley Heers » Thu May 29, 2014 3:24 am