Page 1 of 1

Analyze Tool Exception

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 2:25 am
by ppuchaud
Hi,

I'm trying to launch the analyze tool from Matlab on a new model I built. I only want to compute the moment arm from an inverse kinematic file "_ik.mot".
So i wrote the following xml file :

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<OpenSimDocument Version="3000">
   <AnalyzeTool name="SA06BM_T0S_R1_model_final">
      <model_file>D:\2017-Stage-PUCHAUDPierre\Manips\Data_ID_Copie\SA06BM_T0S_R1\modele\SA06BM_T0S_R1_model_final.osim</model_file>
      <replace_force_set>false</replace_force_set>
      <force_set_files/>
      <results_directory>D:\2017-Stage-PUCHAUDPierre\Manips\Data_ID_Copie\SA06BM_T0S_R1\Propulsion_ES1_Test\SA06BM_T0S_R1_ES1_Propulsion_1_ANALYZE</results_directory>
      <output_precision>8</output_precision>
      <initial_time>0.01</initial_time>
      <final_time>1.06</final_time>
      <solve_for_equilibrium_for_auxiliary_states>false</solve_for_equilibrium_for_auxiliary_states>
      <maximum_number_of_integrator_steps>20000</maximum_number_of_integrator_steps>
      <maximum_integrator_step_size>1</maximum_integrator_step_size>
      <minimum_integrator_step_size>1e-08</minimum_integrator_step_size>
      <integrator_error_tolerance>1e-05</integrator_error_tolerance>
      <AnalysisSet name="Analyses">
         <objects>
            <MuscleAnalysis name="MuscleAnalysis">
               <on>true</on>
               <start_time>0.01</start_time>
               <end_time>1.06</end_time>
               <stepinterval>1</stepinterval>
               <in_degrees>true</in_degrees>
               <muscle_list>all</muscle_list>
               <moment_arm_coordinate_list>all</moment_arm_coordinate_list>
               <compute_moments>false</compute_moments>
            </MuscleAnalysis>
         </objects>
      </AnalysisSet>
      <ControllerSet name="Controllers">
         <objects>
            <ControlSetController>
               <objects/>
               <groups/>
            </ControlSetController>
         </objects>
      </ControllerSet>
      <external_loads_file/>
      <states_file/>
      <coordinates_file>D:\2017-Stage-PUCHAUDPierre\Manips\Data_ID_Copie\SA06BM_T0S_R1\Propulsion_ES1_Test\SA06BM_T0S_R1_ES1_Propulsion_1_ik.mot</coordinates_file>
      <speeds_file/>
      <lowpass_cutoff_frequency_for_coordinates>-1</lowpass_cutoff_frequency_for_coordinates>
   </AnalyzeTool>
</OpenSimDocument>
Here is what I get in the matlab command window:

Code: Select all

AbstractTool SA06BM_T0S_R1_model_final loading model 'D:\2017-Stage-PUCHAUDPierre\Manips\Data_ID_Copie\SA06BM_T0S_R1\modele\SA06BM_T0S_R1_model_final.osim' 
Loaded model SA06BM_T0S_R1_scaled from file D:\2017-Stage-PUCHAUDPierre\Manips\Data_ID_Copie\SA06BM_T0S_R1\modele\SA06BM_T0S_R1_model_final.osim 
 ControlSetController::connectToModel(): no Control Set Specified 
----------------------------------------------------------------------- 
Loaded library 
----------------------------------------------------------------------- 
----------------------------------------------------------------------- 
 
No external loads will be applied (external loads file not specified). 
 ControlSetController::connectToModel(): no Control Set Specified 
Exception in analyze: ModelComponent::getModel(): component does not belong to a model. 
I don't understand what kind of component does not belong to my model ?

Plus, when i simply try to run the analyze tool in OpenSim, I don't get any value in the sto file.

Any suggestion would be appreciated.

Best regards,

Pierre.

Re: Analyze Tool Exception

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 2:50 am
by julian_atkinson
Hi There

You need a controls file. The controls file is a CMC result file.

Check out the "How to use" page:

http://simtk-confluence.stanford.edu:80 ... lysis+Tool

I hope this helps.

Re: Analyze Tool Exception

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:05 am
by ppuchaud
Hello Julian,

Thank you for your reply.

I saw it in the Tutorial page that they use a CMC result to compute special features. Since I don't have any force plates involved in my trial, I can't perform CMC. Moreover, I think moment arms are more or less a geometrical problem so inverse kinematic data should be enough to compute it, Am I right ?


Best regards,

Pierre.

Re: Analyze Tool Exception

Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:51 am
by ppuchaud
I've found my mistake to run the analyze tool.

I finally added external forces .mot and runned inverse dynamics.

Plus, I removed this part of the .xml setup file of analyze.

Code: Select all

<ControllerSet name="Controllers">
         <objects>
            <ControlSetController>
               <objects/>
               <groups/>
            </ControlSetController>
         </objects>
      </ControllerSet>
Best regards,