Page 1 of 1

How to "undisplay" wrap objects- java error?

Posted: Wed May 02, 2018 1:14 pm
by gt0830c
I have somehow triggered the display of wrapped objects in my model. I am sometimes able to (re)hide them by resetting the display_preferences back to 0 (from 4) but other times this does not seem to work. I also get a java related exception error. The text of the error is below. I have also attached a screen shot of the rogue wrapped objects that will not hide. I am running Win10.
javaerror.PNG
javaerror.PNG (594.78 KiB) Viewed 303 times
java.lang.NullPointerException
at org.netbeans.core.NotifyExcPanel$ExceptionFlasher.actionPerformed(NotifyExcPanel.java:660)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2018)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2341)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(DefaultButtonModel.java:402)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(DefaultButtonModel.java:259)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicButtonListener.mouseReleased(BasicButtonListener.java:252)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Component.java:6516)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(JComponent.java:3321)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Component.java:6281)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Container.java:2229)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Component.java:4872)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2287)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4698)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Container.java:4832)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Container.java:4492)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Container.java:4422)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2273)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Window.java:2719)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4698)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:747)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$300(EventQueue.java:103)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:706)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:704)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:76)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:87)
at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(EventQueue.java:720)
at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(EventQueue.java:718)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:76)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:717)
at org.netbeans.core.TimableEventQueue.dispatchEvent(TimableEventQueue.java:159)
[catch] at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:242)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:161)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:150)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:146)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:138)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:91)

Re: How to "undisplay" wrap objects- java error?

Posted: Fri May 04, 2018 4:04 pm
by chrisdembia
There are two display_preference XML elements to edit: make sure to consider the preference in both the WrapObject and in the VisibleObject within the wrap object.

Code: Select all

                            <WrapCylinder name="Gmax1_at_pelvis_r">
                                <!--Display Pref. 0:Hide 1:Wire 3:Flat 4:Shaded-->
                                <display_preference>0</display_preference>
...
                                <VisibleObject>
...
                                    <display_preference>4</display_preference>
                                </VisibleObject>
...
                            </WrapCylinder>

Re: How to "undisplay" wrap objects- java error?

Posted: Mon May 07, 2018 7:44 am
by gt0830c
Thanks for reply, but both disply_prefs elements were set to zero. In general it seems there is some issue displaying the model correctly and consistently. For example, when I close and reopen the model different wrap objects are displayed than where displayed the previous time the file was opened. If I try to change display_prefs in the newly opened model I get a No enum ... message (see attachment).
no_enum.JPG
no_enum.JPG (129.29 KiB) Viewed 258 times
A newly observed issue is that even after closing the model, the model image remains in the model window. Unfortunately this issue not predictable. I am not sure if these display issues are all related somehow.

Best,
Wayne