Page 1 of 1

How to add a torque actuator between the links of a manipulator model?

Posted: Mon May 28, 2018 8:44 am
by pavanguled
Hi all,
I have a manipulator model imported to opensim, I need to define torque actuator between 2 links at revolute joint of the manipulator. How to define that? is it possible in Notepad++ or any other platform? its maybe simple question ,but sorry fro that.


Thanks in advance,
Pavan G

Re: How to add a torque actuator between the links of a manipulator model?

Posted: Tue May 29, 2018 3:19 pm
by tkuchida
I think you're looking for the CoordinateActuator class (https://simtk.org/api_docs/opensim/api_ ... uator.html).

Re: How to add a torque actuator between the links of a manipulator model?

Posted: Wed May 30, 2018 2:08 am
by pavanguled
Hi Thomas,
Thanks again, but i meant was, to define maybe DC Motor and that allows simulation of powered robotic devices(Manipulator) working within musculoskeletal systems. i.e, the dynamics of the robotic actuator must be modeled accurately.

Thanks and regards,
Pavan G

Re: How to add a torque actuator between the links of a manipulator model?

Posted: Wed May 30, 2018 3:02 am
by tkuchida
You would need to define your own class (e.g., by extending CoordinateActuator) that models the dynamics of your actuator. See the McKibbenActuator class for an example:
- McKibbenActuator.h: https://github.com/opensim-org/opensim- ... Actuator.h
- McKibbenActuator.cpp: https://github.com/opensim-org/opensim- ... tuator.cpp
You could then compile your new class into a plugin for use in the GUI, MATLAB, etc.

Re: How to add a torque actuator between the links of a manipulator model?

Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 2:25 pm
by pavanguled
Thank you. It's helpful.

Regards,
Pavan G