marker set list?

Provide a musculoskeletal model of the full thoracolumbar spine and rib cage for researchers to use in their investigations of spine and thorax kinematics and dynamics.
Vincent Tchiong

marker set list?

Post by Vincent Tchiong » Thu Mar 03, 2022 7:22 pm

Hello everyone! Currently I am a grad student in bioengineering at Temple doing research for a master's project, and am using this model to do some mocap. I was wondering if there is a document that lists the markers used and what body parts they align with. I was unable to get the Vicon cameras in our university's facilities to track all of the markers on the spinal clusters, so I might have to edit the model by removing some markers to match the pilot data I collected. I have never worked with Opensim or Qualisys to this degree, so I would appreciate any advice I can get!

-Vincent Tchiong
Temple University

Jacob J. Banks

Re: marker set list?

Post by Jacob J. Banks » Fri Mar 04, 2022 7:30 am

I don't believe the markers in the model are the current set we use. I've attached a marker file that you can replace that set with that will coincide with what we are currently doing.

I've also included a CCC model that is necessary to reduce the degrees of freedom of the spine from 51 to 6. Otherwise, it is pretty difficult to have track every vertebrae independently (see this paper for additional logic: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC8358679/).

That said, you can adjust the markerset to what you think is best for capturing you movement. It is pretty easy/straightforward how to customize the markerset in OpenSim to match where you want markers.
https://simtk-confluence.stanford.edu:8 ... ker+Editor

Ok? Let me know if this doesn't make sense. You may want to work your way through some of the tutorials on the OpenSim site (if you haven't) to get more familiar with OpenSim before starting with our more complex model.
Jake Banks
Attachments
CCCmodel_markers.zip