Adding Arm Muscles

Provide a musculoskeletal model of the full thoracolumbar spine and rib cage for researchers to use in their investigations of spine and thorax kinematics and dynamics.
Kenneth Panteleev

Adding Arm Muscles

Post by Kenneth Panteleev » Fri Mar 10, 2023 3:28 am

Hi team,

Thank you very much for giving us all access to such an incredible model. I am a final year biomedical engineering student at Imperial College London, and I am trying to use this model to calculate muscle forces from experimental data. I am new to OpenSim and apologise if this is rather basic, however I would love to add muscle forces to the arms of the model as well as additional markers to match the ones that were experimentally taken. I was wondering how this would be possible and any guidance would be heavily appreciated! Thank you in advance for taking the time to read this and for any additional help offered.

Best regards,
Kenneth Panteleev
Biomedical Engineering MEng candidate
Imperial College London

Jacob J. Banks

Re: Adding Arm Muscles

Post by Jacob J. Banks » Fri Mar 10, 2023 6:39 am

Ken,
Thanks for your kind words and interest in our model.
Unfortunately, we don't have an 'easy' solution for you... if we did, we would have added the arm muscles already! That said, it isn't an insurmountable task. One would just do what we did with the lower limb... find an applicable OpenSim Upper Arm model and CAREFULLY add the muscles (and maybe some DoF). Burkhart et al. 2020 touches on how this was done (in brief you just modify the .osim text file to include the muscles you want):
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC8383199/
You would then want to validate the model too.