How to add a torque actuator between the links of a manipulator model?

Provide easy-to-use, extensible software for modeling, simulating, controlling, and analyzing the neuromusculoskeletal system.
POST REPLY
User avatar
pavan guled
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:42 am

How to add a torque actuator between the links of a manipulator model?

Post by pavan guled » Mon May 28, 2018 8:44 am

Hi all,
I have a manipulator model imported to opensim, I need to define torque actuator between 2 links at revolute joint of the manipulator. How to define that? is it possible in Notepad++ or any other platform? its maybe simple question ,but sorry fro that.


Thanks in advance,
Pavan G

Tags:

User avatar
Thomas Uchida
Posts: 1790
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 11:40 am

Re: How to add a torque actuator between the links of a manipulator model?

Post by Thomas Uchida » Tue May 29, 2018 3:19 pm

I think you're looking for the CoordinateActuator class (https://simtk.org/api_docs/opensim/api_ ... uator.html).

User avatar
pavan guled
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:42 am

Re: How to add a torque actuator between the links of a manipulator model?

Post by pavan guled » Wed May 30, 2018 2:08 am

Hi Thomas,
Thanks again, but i meant was, to define maybe DC Motor and that allows simulation of powered robotic devices(Manipulator) working within musculoskeletal systems. i.e, the dynamics of the robotic actuator must be modeled accurately.

Thanks and regards,
Pavan G

User avatar
Thomas Uchida
Posts: 1790
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 11:40 am

Re: How to add a torque actuator between the links of a manipulator model?

Post by Thomas Uchida » Wed May 30, 2018 3:02 am

You would need to define your own class (e.g., by extending CoordinateActuator) that models the dynamics of your actuator. See the McKibbenActuator class for an example:
- McKibbenActuator.h: https://github.com/opensim-org/opensim- ... Actuator.h
- McKibbenActuator.cpp: https://github.com/opensim-org/opensim- ... tuator.cpp
You could then compile your new class into a plugin for use in the GUI, MATLAB, etc.

User avatar
pavan guled
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:42 am

Re: How to add a torque actuator between the links of a manipulator model?

Post by pavan guled » Fri Jun 01, 2018 2:25 pm

Thank you. It's helpful.

Regards,
Pavan G

POST REPLY