Hi
I have system with two GPU cards and I would like to be able to run two different systems one on each. How can I select which GPU to run.
Thanks
Selecting which GPU to run a simulation
- Luis Fernandes
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 6:36 am
- Christopher Bruns
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:10 pm
RE: Selecting which GPU to run a simulation
Depending on what operating system you are using, it might be possible to run two Zephyr simulations on two different GPUs.
Try launching two instances of Zephyr from two different shells. Before launching Zephyr, set the environment variable OPENMM_PLATFORM differently in each shell. Set one OPENMM_PLATFORM variable to "Cuda;CudaDevice=0" and the other to "Cuda;CudaDevice=1".
Try launching two instances of Zephyr from two different shells. Before launching Zephyr, set the environment variable OPENMM_PLATFORM differently in each shell. Set one OPENMM_PLATFORM variable to "Cuda;CudaDevice=0" and the other to "Cuda;CudaDevice=1".
- Luis Fernandes
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 6:36 am
RE: Selecting which GPU to run a simulation
Thanks that did the trick.
- Christopher Bruns
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:10 pm
RE: Selecting which GPU to run a simulation
Good news! Thanks for the report. I wasn't certain it would work. I am glad to hear that it does.
Could you please mention Luis what sort of computer you are using? (Windows, Mac, Linux?)
Could you please mention Luis what sort of computer you are using? (Windows, Mac, Linux?)
- Luis Fernandes
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 6:36 am
RE: Selecting which GPU to run a simulation
On a Linux Machine Ubuntu 9.04 x86_64.