Hello,
I am new to SCONE and I am trying to implement it's use to predict joint moments. Is there a way to replace muscle actuation with joint actuation? I have looked through the examples and tutorials and have not yet found a clue on how to achieve this. Any help is appreciated!
Changing inputs to be joint actuators
- Ernesto Hernandez-Hinojosa
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 5:28 am
- Thomas Geijtenbeek
- Posts: 446
- Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:08 am
Re: Changing inputs to be joint actuators
Yes, that is possible! There is currently only one example though that uses joint actuation. You can find it in the SCONE Examples folder:
Examples/Jump2D - H0906 - Joint Motor - Hyfydy.scone
Please let me know if this helps!
Examples/Jump2D - H0906 - Joint Motor - Hyfydy.scone
Please let me know if this helps!
- Ernesto Hernandez-Hinojosa
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 5:28 am
Re: Changing inputs to be joint actuators
Thanks for the reply! This is a good place to start. It looks like there is a feedforward torque controller being applied. Is there a straight forward method to implement a two state gait controller using joint actuation? I assume the reflex controller will need to be swapped for feedforward controllers is this correct?
- Thomas Geijtenbeek
- Posts: 446
- Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:08 am
Re: Changing inputs to be joint actuators
Yes, you can simply use the GaitStateController with two states and use joint actuation instead of muscle reflexes. You are not limited to feedforward control either, you can also use the DofReflex with a joint actuator, which makes it behave like a PD controller.
- Ernesto Hernandez-Hinojosa
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 5:28 am
Re: Changing inputs to be joint actuators
Thanks! What should the source and target be for the DofReflex?For source it seems like its just the name of the DOF but for target, i'm not sure what the name of the actuator should be.
- Thomas Geijtenbeek
- Posts: 446
- Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:08 am
Re: Changing inputs to be joint actuators
Simply use the name of the Dof (coordinate). They can be used both for source and target if you use a DofReflex.