Optimizer error message

Provide easy-to-use, extensible software for modeling, simulating, controlling, and analyzing the neuromusculoskeletal system.
User avatar
Jiang Ping
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 4:09 am

Re: Optimizer error message

Post by Jiang Ping » Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:30 am

setMaxIterations() is just to set one of the stop conditions of your optimization. It will not help your application avoid crashing if memory leak exists. what you should do is to run it in linux and use some tool like virgin to check where memory leak occurs.

Is it possible to pass parameters that are not opensim actuators for optimizing?
It's possible but difficult. The excitation ranges from 0 to 1 but other parameters might have different ranges. If you well scaled your parameters, maybe it would be possible. Good luck!

User avatar
Nithin Kurup
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:13 am

Re: Optimizer error message

Post by Nithin Kurup » Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:12 pm

Dear Jiang,

Thanks a lot for your suggestion. I will try your first suggestion if memory leak happens again. About the second part- you are absolutely correct, its possible to pass parameters only thing to be careful is the scale factors. I just implemented it and works. Thanks again.

Nithin

User avatar
Christopher Dembia
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: Optimizer error message

Post by Christopher Dembia » Thu Aug 13, 2015 3:45 pm

You can definitely have more than 1000 as the maximum number of iterations.

The linux tool that Jiang was referring to is valgrind.

POST REPLY