Unable to associate motion(.mot file) to model

Provide easy-to-use, extensible software for modeling, simulating, controlling, and analyzing the neuromusculoskeletal system.
Jas K

Unable to associate motion(.mot file) to model

Post by Jas K » Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:33 pm

Hello,

I am relatively new to OpenSim, basically I have managed to export data from Visual 3D in .mot format. I am trying to load this motion file to lower extremity model (Both legs with muscles) and it comes up with an error : 'Could not associate motion file to model'. However I am able to load the same motion file to a different model - 3DGiantModel2392. I am not sure why its happening, I would appreciate any help.

Regards
Jas

Ayman Habib

Re: Unable to associate motion(.mot file) to model

Post by Ayman Habib » Fri Jan 30, 2015 9:05 am

Hi Jas,

For OpenSim to associate a motion file to a model, the file has to have at least some column headers that match the names of the coordinates in the model.

Hope this explains why you can associate a motion with one model but not another.

Best regards,
-Ayman

Jas K

Post by Jas K » Mon Feb 02, 2015 3:29 pm

Hi Ayman,

Thanks for your reply. Would you be able to clarify how to match the column headers with the name of the coordinates in the model? Is there an example or a tutorial that I could follow that shows me how to do it?

Thankyou
Jas

Ayman Habib

Post by Ayman Habib » Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:16 am

Hi Jas,

The motion file (.mot or .sto) is an ASCII file that you can open in notepad and see the column headers as text. These headers should match the names of the coordinates in the model. Coordinate names show up in the Coordinate view in the OpenSim GUI and can be edited by opening the model .osim file in a text editor and changing the names of the coordinates accordingly (they would be located under the <Coordinate> tags.

Hope this helps,
-Ayman

Jas K

Post by Jas K » Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:23 pm

Hi Ayman,